whoapiad space available here, contact us todayad space available here, contact us today

5 Months Exclusivity On a Domain Auction? Surely You Jest

April 12, 2012

I saw that there is an upcoming Moniker & NameDrive Premium International & ccTLD Auction in July.  I thought for a moment about submitting a few domains, until I realized one thing:  An unreasonably long period of exclusivity.

Here are the official auction dates and deadlines:

Submissions End: May 10, 2012
Auction Begins:
June 21, 2012 at Noon ET (9:00 am PT)
Auction Ends:
July 19, 2012 at 3:15 pm ET (12:15 pm PT)

According to the SnapNames/Moniker Auction Seller Agreement to which you must comply should you wish to submit your domains, you also agree to grant exclusive rights for Moniker/Snapnames to market and sell your domains for a period of 60 days following the auctions closing date.

Let’s do the math.

If you submitted your domains today, April 12th, you’d be locked in from now until September 19th.  That’s over 5 months!!

I honestly can’t see any good in that unless you’re absolutely positive your domain will sell.

Otherwise, why keep them off the market for that long, only on the chance that they’ll sell at auction.  As many of you know, industry auctions can sometimes have fairly lackluster results.   I think it’d be considered a highly successful turnout of any domain auction if even 1/3 of the inventory sold over reserves.  Often its less.

Would you play those odds unless you were absolutely certain?

Previous post:

Next post: